Three trustees boycott board meeting

Kelly Wynne, News Editor

Three College of DuPage board members have refused to attend the board meeting scheduled for Dec. 17, as well as any others until a new chairman is hired.

Trustees Erin Birt, Joseph Wozniak and Diane McGuire expressed their concerns and explained their absence in a letter sent to Acting Interim President Joseph Collins.

The letter details their disapproval of making any college-wide decisions without the proper consent of a chairman. They have also requested an organizational meeting to discuss the current stance of issues such as COD’s probation. The next organizational meeting is not scheduled until April.

Currently, trustee Deanne Mazzochi is acting as chairwoman after the abrupt resignation of Kathy Hamilton who had served as chairwoman for seven months. Mazzochi is a known supporter of Hamilton.